Header Background Global Nav Background Santa Barbara City College Logo

SBCC to honor 1982 Mission Bowl champs on 35th anniversary

The 1982 Vaqueros went 8-2 and won the Lions Mission Bowl.
The 1982 Vaqueros went 8-2 and won the Lions Mission Bowl.

SBCC will honor the 1982 Mission Bowl championship football team on Nov. 4 at halftime of Saturday's 1 p.m. game vs. L.A. Pierce at La Playa Stadium. It's the 35th anniversary of that squad's 38-20 win over L.A. Harbor.

After the game, the team members & friends will join former SBCC football players of the 1970's & 80's and their friends & families at Carriage Museum at nearby Pershing Park.

The '82 team, coached by Bob Dinaberg, defeated L.A. Harbor 38-20 to win the Lions Mission Bowl championship. The Vaqueros won their last five games to finish at 8-2. They were five points away from an undefeated season. SBCC was led by QB Greg Tipton, WR Craig Dell, TE Rick Trigueiro, OL John McClure, OL Andy DeMarcus on offense and DL Joe Jones, LB Mark Brown, LB Mark Crane, DL Yaron Lerer, DL Mark Olson & DB Ernie Brown on defense. The defense, coached by Carmen DiPoalo, allowed an average of 11.5 points per game.   

A Barbeque & Reunion will start at 6:00 p.m. at the Carriage Museum (across from the softball field). Limited admission is $15 per person. RSVP early. Vaquero Coach Chris Pagliaro will be entertaining with his Bull Frog Blues Band.

RSVP to 805 646-9657 or info@markcranestree.com

Carriage Museum address: 129 Castillo St., Santa Barbara